.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Board of County Commissioners

County Commissioners

The Board of County Commissioners is the legislative and policy-making body of county government. The Board establishes policy and makes all budget decisions with regard to appropriation of funds to county departments and some constitutional officers. The chairperson presides over all board meetings, signs all legal documents, and appoints commissioners to various committees. The chairperson is the official representative of the board and retains a vote on all items and issues. The chairperson is selected annually by his/her peers to represent the board. DeSoto County is served by a five member Board of County Commissioners, representing all five districts within the county. The commissioners are elected at-large and each serves a four-year term. All terms are staggered with two commissioners being elected in one year and three in the succeeding two years.


Board of County Commissioners meetings are held on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month. Meetings are held in the Commission Chambers, located within the Administration building on the first floor at 201 E. Oak Street in Arcadia.

  •      Second Tuesday meetings begint at 9:00 a.m.
  •      Fourth Tuesday meetings begin at 3:00 p.m., with quasi-judicial agenda items at 6:30 p.m. 
  •      Look on Agenda for confirmation of 6:30 p.m. meetings
  •      Special meetings and workshops are called as needed

Board Members

There are five Commissioners that make up the Board of County Commissioners. Each Commissioner is elected to a four year term.  The County is divided into five districts, each member of the Board is responsible for one district.  Each Commissioner is required to live within their district.  The chairman and vice chairman are elected by the Board annually.



  •     To provide services for the well-being and safety of the residents
  •     To pass resolutions and ordinances for the safety and welfare of DeSoto County residents
  •     To  provide financing of County government operations by levying taxation when necessary



Mandy Hines
County Administrator
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
Ph:   (863) 993-4800
Fax:  (863) 993-4809

201 E. Oak Street
Suite 201
Arcadia, FL 34266
view map

Calendar Events

The Board of County Commissioners Office will be closed on Monday December 24, 2018 in observance...  read more

The Board of County Commissioners Office will be closed on Monday December 25, 2018 in observance...  read more

Click here for full calendar.

News and Announcements

Local Mitigation Strategy (LMS) Working Group Meeting Scheduled
The next Local Mitigation Strategy (LMS) Working Group Meeting will take place on Thursday December...  read more

Specia Master Hearing December 14th @ 10:00am
DESOTO COUNTY SPECIAL MASTERS AGENDA December 14, 2018     CALL TO...  read more

Facility Closure
Due to repairs at the Turner Center, we will be closed from December 17th- 25th, 2018.  read more

Employment Opportunity
Desoto County BOCC is currently accepting applications for a Facilities Maintenance Specialist with...  read more

DeSoto County Fire Rescue Employees Return Home
Our crew is on their way home from Mexico Beach. They have accomplished much in a little time and...  read more

Click here for full news archive.